Creation Comes In Small Sizes

Standard

As  an artist, illustrator ( http://www.angeliamclean.com) and a full-time mom of 4 teenagers, Angelia McLean enjoys anything that requires using her hands and mind in a creative way; painting, drawing, sewing, crocheting, egging, gardening, photography are just a few.

Tiny fairies inside eggs, sculpted character dolls or crocheted doll clothes all come not only from her imagination but also her own patterns and designs.  Angelia enjoys making miniature creations. Look into her  ‘Moon Violets and Little Blue Witches(http://www.etsy.com/shop/moonviolets) store at Etsy and find out her collection.

1) Pink Leaf Designs:  When did you first know you wanted to be an artist/ designer and what are your inspirations?

Angelia McLean:  Whether I paint or draw or make puppets, I’ve always been an artist-never really knew because I’ve always made things or designed and created.  I tend to jump around in my interests but they’re always in the creative genre.

2) Pink Leaf Designs:  If the sky’s the limit, what new piece of artwork would you create?

Angelia McLean:  I think I would love to do a giant mural or some large urban graffiti piece.

3) PLD:  You have the artist’s block today, what do you do to get unstuck?

AM:  I hate blank white papers, snowy white sketch books and no project laying ready to finish.  It is always better for me to finish something and start something else right away to prime the pump so to avoid that blank white paper fear.  Deadlines are a big help in overcoming artist block.  I tend to do better when I have an end date I must meet.

4) PLD:  Assuming that this is a business venture, what obstacles did you face when starting up your business? Any new challenges when creating your product lines?

AM:  I do sell my eggs and it seems to work best when they’re in shops rather than online.  People need to see the scenes inside of them and realize how small they are which isn’t captured via a website.  I’ve tried Etsy but worried about the shipping problems/breakage.  Something this small also takes a lot of time and people don’t realize that when it comes to pricing them.

5) PLD:  If you want to branch out your business, which stores / venue would you like to carry your products?

AM:  I just like small gift shops-there isn’t a way to capture this uniqueness of each egg plus I don’t think my chickens want to be that busy!

6) PLD:  What advise would you give to the newbies (fellow artists/ designers who wants to be turn their creations to business)?
AM:  Do what you love not what you think the market is.

7) PLD: Which music CD are you listening now?
AM:  Soundtracks to Chocolate and Under the Tuscan Sun. I have the desire to be in France or Italy right now.

(8) PLD:  What’s in your tool box?


AM:  My tool box is an entire room filled with art supplies, started paintings, cut paper, eggs, notions, clay, mannequins and all sorts of collectibles that give me inspiration and comfort.

9) PLD:  What else would you like the readers know about your work and future business plans?

AM:  I am creating doll characters in addition to my egging along with cards and illustrations that I plan to sell on Etsy on and off (http://www.etsy.com/shop/moonviolets). These eggs I use are from our backyard chicken flock we’ve had way before it was legal (I might add).  They lay different shapes and colors.  Recently a new hen has begun laying blue eggs.

Read Angelia McLean’s blog at http://angeliamclean.blogspot.com.

Leave a Reply

